4 comments on “Ch. 3 discussion

  1. The Kid’s recruitment made me think of Alice’s Restaurant by Arlo Guthrie.
    In the song the guy goes down to be inspected for the army draft…

    “And I walked in, I sat down, they gave me a piece of paper that said: “Kid,
    See the psychiatrist in room 604.”

    I went up there, I said, “Shrink, I want to kill. I want to kill! I want to see
    Blood and gore and guts and veins in my teeth! Eat dead, burnt bodies! I
    Mean: Kill. Kill!”

    And I started jumpin’ up and down, yellin’ “KILL! KILL!” and he started
    Jumpin’ up and down with me, and we was both jumpin’ up and down, yellin’,
    “KILL! KILL! KILL! KILL!” and the sergeant came over, pinned a medal on me,
    Sent me down the hall, said “You’re our boy”. Didn’t feel too good about it.”

    It’s funnier in the actual song though.

    • I totally love this song. I have it on vinyl actually. It’s great and it is really a good representation of what happens in the book. The kid says he doesn’t have any experience and they just say that they bet he can shoot a gun. Very similar..

  2. My favorite part of this chapter was the second to last paragraph on page 43. “But they berated the old man and swore at him until he moved of down the bar muttering, and how else could it be? How these things end. In confusion and curses and blood.” I saw this sentence as sort of a prediction for the rest of the Kid’s life. It will end in confusion and curses and blood. Mmm. Idk. I really love that.

  3. I don’t know if my comments are actually showing up. I’ve put them in and it says “posting comment…” then it all disappears. Anyway, I’ll try again. I think Dana’s example was great. The kid says he hasn’t got any experience and they just reply by saying they bet he can shoot a gun.

Leave a Reply

